Board Members

The seven members of the FASB serve full time and, to foster their independence, are required to sever connections with the firms or institutions they served before joining the Board. While they individually have diverse backgrounds, each has a concern for investors, other users, and the public interest in matters of accounting and financial reporting and they collectively have "knowledge of accounting, finance, business, accounting education, and research.”

Board members are appointed for five-year terms and are eligible for reappointment to one additional five-year term. Expiration dates (on June 30) of current terms are indicated.

Richard R. Jones, Chair

Richard R. Jones began his seven-year term as the eighth chair of the FASB on July 1, 2020.  In this role, Mr. Jones heads up the seven-member board that establishes generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) for public companies, private companies and nongovernmental not-for-profit organizations in the United States. Mr. Jones brings to his position with the FASB deep technical accounting experience obtained over more than three decades with Ernst & Young (EY). Prior to his appointment to the FASB, Mr. Jones was a Partner at EY and served as the firm’s chief accountant, leading a large and diverse team of professional colleagues in the firm’s national office.

>> More


James L. Kroeker, Vice Chairman

James L. Kroeker was appointed a member and vice chairman of the FASB on September 1, 2013, later reappointed to a second term that extends to June 30, 2024. In the latter role, he assists the FASB chairman in representing the Board to external stakeholders and in conducting its internal operations, in addition to serving as a voting member of the Board. Mr. Kroeker joined the FASB from Deloitte, where he served as the Deputy Managing Partner for Professional Practice. Prior to joining Deloitte in January 2013, he served as the Chief Accountant of the Securities and Exchange Commission from January 2009 until his departure in 2012. In that capacity, Jim served as the senior accounting professional for the Commission and the principal advisor to the Commission on all accounting and auditing matters. He also was responsible for resolution of a wide range of globally significant accounting and auditing issues.

>> More


Christine Ann Botosan, Board Member

Christine Ann Botosan was appointed to the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) on July 1, 2016, later reappointed to a second term that extends to June 30, 2026. Prior to joining the FASB, Ms. Botosan was a professor of accounting at the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah. An award-winning professor and researcher, Ms. Botosan has a broad knowledge of accounting issues, with particular expertise in the areas of financial statement analysis and valuation. Ms. Botosan served in a variety of roles during her tenure at the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah including as a leadership fellow in the office of the vice president, as the George S. and Dolores Dore Eccles Presidential Chair in Ethical Financial Reporting and as the associate dean of graduate affairs.

>> More


Gary R. Buesser, Board Member

Gary R. Buesser joined the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) on July 1, 2018. His first term concludes June 30, 2023, and he is eligible for reappointment to a second term.
Mr. Buesser was a portfolio manager/research analyst for 30 years, including at Lazard Asset Management from 2000 to 2018. A director/research analyst at the firm beginning in 2009, he worked as an accounting analyst to improve the firm’s global investment professionals’ understanding of accounting standards to enable them to make better-informed investment decisions. From 2000–2009, Mr. Buesser was a portfolio manager/research analyst on the U.S. Strategic Equity and U.S. Mid-Cap product teams.

>> More


Susan M. Cosper, Board Member

Susan M. Cosper (Sue) joined the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) on May 1, 2019. Her initial term concludes on June 30, 2024, and she is eligible for reappointment to a second term. In her Board role Ms. Cosper also serves as the FASB liaison to the Private Company Council (PCC). Ms. Cosper previously served as the FASB’s technical director and chair of the Emerging Issues Task Force (EITF). As Technical Director, she had responsibility for managing the FASB’s technical accounting and research activities and staff.  As Chair of the EITF Ms. Cosper helped the FASB identify, discuss, and resolve timely financial accounting issues.

>> More


Marsha L. Hunt, Board Member

Marsha L. Hunt joined the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) July 1, 2017. Her first term concludes June 30, 2022, and she is eligible for reappointment to a second term. Ms. Hunt previously served as Vice President and Corporate Controller for Cummins Inc. where she was responsible for external reporting, consolidation, finance systems, accounting policy, insurance risk management and Sarbanes Oxley compliance. She also served as a trustee of the Cummins UK pension schemes, and as a board member of the company’s largest US based joint venture. As a preparer of financial statements, she brings vast experience and broad knowledge of financial accounting and reporting issues facing large public companies.

>> More


R. Harold Schroeder, Board Member

R. Harold “Hal” Schroeder joined the FASB in February 2011, reappointed to a second term in 2015. His second and final term concludes on June 30, 2021. Mr. Schroeder is a CPA who brings over 30 years of diverse experience in investing and financial reporting to the FASB. Most notably, he brings a strong investor perspective to the FASB, with more than 15 years of experience working with all facets of the investment community. During his career, he has viewed the preparation of financial statements and the application of accounting standards from varying perspectives including auditor, preparer and investor. Prior to joining the Board, Mr. Schroeder was a partner at Carlson Capital, L.P., a Dallas-based money manager.

>> More